The study team

Chief investigator:

Dr Ruth Kipping, Consultant Senior Lecturer in Public Health


Trial managers:

Dr Kim Hannam and Kate Willis



Research site managers:

Bristol – Rachel Brophy, Hilary Taylor and Tom Reid

Glasgow – Ross Forsyth (Project Manager), Dr Anne Martin (Research Site Manager) and Dr Stephanie Chambers (Research Fellow)


Birmingham – Dr Jo Clarke, Dr Charlotte Hall (Research Associate)

Project administrator

Sarah Burrows-Weeks


Trial Management Group (TMG):

The TMG monitors all aspects of the progress of the trial. The TMG members have expertise in public health, paediatrics, nutrition, statistics, economic evaluation of complex interventions, and qualitative and quantitative experience in the evaluation of randomised control trials. The TMG for the cluster randomised controlled trial is made up of the following members:

Dr Ruth Kipping (Chief Investigator and Chair), Consultant Senior Lecturer in Public Health, University of Bristol

Professor Laurence Moore, Director of the Medical Research Council/Chief Scientist Office Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, University of Glasgow

Dr James White, Senior Lecturer in Public Health, Cardiff University

Dr Beki Langford, Senior Research Associate, University of Bristol

Dr Miranda Pallan, Senior Clinical Lecturer in Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Sharon Simpson, Professor of Behavioural Sciences and Health, University of Glasgow

Professor Dianne Ward, Professor of Nutrition, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Professor William Hollingworth, Professor of Health Economics, University of Bristol

Professor Russ Jago, Professor of Paediatric Physical Activity & Public Health, University of Bristol

Professor Corby Martin, Director of the Ingestive Behaviour Laboratory, Pennington Biomedical Research Centre

Professor Chris Metcalfe, Professor of Medical Statistics and Co-Director of Bristol Randomised Trials Collaboration, University of Bristol

Dr Laura Johnson, Senior Lecturer in Public health Nutrition, University of Bristol


Trial Steering Committee (TSC):

The TSC provides independent expert oversight of the trial on behalf of its Sponsor (Bristol University’s Research and Enterprise Development (RED)) and its Funder (NIHR Public Health Research Programme). Through its independent Chair, it also provides advice to the Trial Management Group (TMG), the Funder and the Bristol Randomised Trials Collaboration (BRTC). Members are:

Professor Ashley Adamson, Professor of Public Health Nutrition and NIHR Research Professor, Newcastle University

Dr Mark Kelson, Senior Lecturer in Data Science, University of Exeter

Professor Stavros Petrou, Professor of Health Economics, University of Oxford

Dr Brad Metcalf, Senior Lecturer, University of Exeter

Ms Justine Britton, Nursery Manager, Bristol University Nursery